The October Project

Today (Oct 1) starts a new challenge. I’m calling it the October Project. Essentially what it is, is a way to track my daily eating habits and work out routine. Now some people may think this is just another useless blog recording periodic accomplishments that we’ve all seen from our friends and family. I think this may be a little different than those 1 week, 3 or 4 posts, lame blogs with no substance. I’ve been a committed road cyclist over that past 4 months and have logged about 1800 miles in that time period. And although I’ve kept track of my travels on MapMyRide.com and Strava.com, I’ve been needing a central location to update my diet and other workouts. So, naturally this is the default recording device and hopefully after the next 31 days or so, we’ll all be able to see what my daily activities do for me.

Now, I wouldn’t mind a positive comment here and there or a slap on the back once in awhile, but I won’t beg for it. And if you want to leave fat guy jokes and comments too, I won’t take offense. Either way, I plan on making the next month of strict diet and exercise blah, blah, blah somehow entertaining and worthwhile.

And just for the record, I’m not going to be following any structured diet like Atkins, South Beach, Grass and Prune Juice, etc. I’ll just read and research as I go along and I’ll share what I’m eating every day. As far as workouts go, my main goal is to get some kind of physical, heart rate increasing, get off my fat but and do something productive type of thing every day as well. Some days I might ride 40 miles, other days I might do 1/2 mile swimming laps, weights, running (probably not a lot), walking or whatever I can squeeze into my day.

The final element of the October Project is to try as much as possible to avoid eating any fast food for the entire month. There is one small exception and that is eating at Subway or Blimpie or other kind of sandwich type place, but no chips and soda to go with it. And did I mention I’m off the delicious carbonated beverage guzzler routine too? No? Well, starting tomorrow that’s part of the plan.

As you can clearly see, I have my work cut out for me. I’m excited to see what the results are in a month from now. So, sit back, relax, and enjoy watching the kid from “Goonies” otherwise known as “Chunk” get a little more leaner and fitter. Is fitter even a word? Well, it is now.

Chaio

| 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The October Project

  1. You can do it Craig!! And you are an inspiration to those of us that also need a kick in the butt!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

