Honor Code

With all the recent hype about BYU and the Honor Code since Brandon Davies violated it, there has been a lot of hype about it in the local and national media.  Let me state my position clearly…. I would have never gone to BYU and I don’t think the HC is a bad thing at all.  Although I’m LDS, I just don’t think I would have lasted more than about a week on campus there.

I chose to attend Weber State for 1 year prior to going on an LDS mission. I then attended SLCC for 1 1/2  years and the U of U for 1 1/2 years. I had several friends and family members attend BYU and I’m glad they enjoyed their experiences there and I had a chance to  spend plenty of time on the BYU campus with them. Now, I know I have a warped perception of what really goes on at BYU, but from what I experienced and saw while visiting there wasn’t what I was looking for in an educational experience.

I enjoyed the viewpoints and challenges my professors threw at me. I like looking “outside the box” and stepping out of my comfort zone and learning about things that are foreign to me. I don’t know if I would have gained the perspective and outlook on life that I have if I hadn’t gone through the experiences I had by attending the schools that I did.

Anyways, on to the Honor Code at BYU. I don’t really feel sorry for Brandon Davies or anyone else who gets kicked out for HC violations. He knew exactly what he was signing up for when he decided to go and play/study there. You have to live with the consequences of your decisions, and now he will disappoint not only himself but the whole university and fan base for not living up to what he agreed to.

Some holier than thou critics will tout that no other university has the “high standards” that BYU has, but those standards are self imposed and irrelevant to everyone else. That’s because no one really cares. Some might admire the commitment to the choices they have made to live by, but at the end of the day most people outside the BYU/LDS lifestyle could really care less. I choose to live the same standards that are in the HC. I do it voluntarily. I don’t think of myself better than anyone else because of my personal conduct standards and I personally believe that no one would care if I didn’t.  What I’m getting at is whether or not you sign a piece of paper to live a certain way, it’s really no one’s business what you do in your own personal life, because really it’s up to you and God and that’s what really matters. If you commit to those personal standards publicly then you better live up to them, otherwise be assured you will be accused, judged and sentenced in front of everyone. Personally, I’ll deal with my shortcoming with the big man upstairs and not in the public arena. Good luck Brandon. Hope everything works out for the best.

Categories: General, Sports | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Honor Code

  1. Zach

    Good post Craig.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

