Been Busy Lately

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, but I’ve had a lot of fun too.

So, I was in Fort Lauderdale, Florida this past week. AirMed was kind enough to send me to the Air Medical Transport Conference and we had a great time. I was able to attend a lot of great presentations by our own team members and others from around the country. I learned a lot of great things and met a lot of great people and lots of networking. I even met a flight RN from South Africa and spent some time talking with her and her husband about ZA and everything going on down there.

And the week before, I was able to climb Mt. Timpanogos, ok, I attempted to climb Timp. Let me explain. The start of the hike was great. Temps were in the 50’s, cloudy, and no wind. I made a huge mistake in over preparing though. I thought it would be muddy from the previous days rain and snow, so I packed my wildland boots and tons of other stuff for the “just in case” scenarios rolling around in my head. So my pack weighed about 40 pounds. I had some cramping in my legs on the way up and it was slow going….way slower than I ever expected. Once I got up to the upper meadow, I could see that the summit was clouded over and didn’t look to promising to making it all the way. I made it to the “Saddle”  but the visibility was less than 10 feet, winds were about 40 mph, and the temps were in the 20’s. I decided not to push on the rest of the way simply because I didn’t want to become a news story of  a hiker falling to my death or something along those lines. The hike down was great and uneventful and it was a lot of fun being up in the mountains before winter finally sets in.

Yesterday, Melissa made it well known to me that since I had a day off, that she didn’t want to waste it just sitting and lounging around all day. So, we decided to take the kids to Bridal Veil Falls and let them ride their bikes along the Provo River Trail. They had a great time and once we made it to the falls they ran around and splashed in the shallow water. Of course no fun day can go without good food so Melissa got an order to go from Zupas and I got an order to go from Chili’s and headed for home.

Now it’s back to the grind of work and reality. Although I love all my jobs, it sure has been fun playing and relaxing a little bit.

Categories: General | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

